.

San Diego County Law Enforcement Cracking Down on 'Distracted Drivers' in April

If you are caught violating California's cell phone laws, you will be cited and face a minimum fine of $161 plus court fees with subsequent violations being higher.

Patch file photo.
Patch file photo.
April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month. A driver that texts or uses a hand-held cell phone can cause a crash that leads to serious injuries or even death. 

All month long, the Sheriff's Department will have a "zero tolerance" policy toward drivers caught using a hand-held cell phone. 

In addition, Deputies will be conducting special distracted driving enforcement patrols across the county on the following dates: April 3rd, April 8th, April 17th and April 22nd. 

If you are caught violating California's cell phone laws, you will be cited and face a minimum fine of $161 plus court fees with subsequent violations being higher. 

According to the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), drivers who use hand-held devices are four times more likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves. 

"We take the issue of distracted driving very seriously," said Sheriff Bill Gore. "Sheriff's Deputies are always on the lookout for drivers who are texting or using hand-held phones to prevent accidents that could seriously hurt people. DISTRACTED DRIVING: IT'S NOT WORTH IT!" 

New teenage drivers can learn all about responsible driving by taking a "Start Smart" class. The two-hour class teaches teens all about driver safety, including not texting and driving. 

To learn more about the "Start Smart" program, go to: sdsheriff.net/startsmart

—San Diego County Sheriff's Department

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »